Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Grill Temp....

jmikol0208
jmikol0208 Posts: 12
edited June 2020 in EggHead Forum
Ok I am somewhat new with my Egg and still learning... I want to describe my grilling experience and pose a question after. I wanted to grill a ribeye steak.  The steps I follow has been pretty solid for me - get the grill up to 600 degrees and grill the steak 4-6 minutes (3 min per side). Close the vents and grill until the steak reaches the desired temp.

I started my grill and of course, the weather Gods frowned on me and it started raining. I closed my vents and waited the storm out.

I went to restart my grill - it was pretty much recovering on its own once I re-opened the vents- say, the temp quickly start rising to around 500 degrees. I'm thinking cool, I had my vents wide open and I should get my grill up to temp soon. The temp rising slowed down considerably and it took me several more minutes to get the grill up to 600 degrees. once it finally reached that temp, I waited about 5 minutes to make sure the temp was stable before I introduced the steak.

The first three minutes went by and it was time to flip the steak. I was happy to see me Egg maintaining the 600 degree temp. I flipped the steak and reset my timer for another 3 minutes.

Within that three minutes my Egg went from 600 degrees to over 900 degrees. I was not expecting that...

It all turned out great but I was concerned how quickly the grill heated up. I am sure that more of the charcoal igniting over that time was the reason.