Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

My Pork Crown Roast experience with the Egg Genius

Options
I'm basically a newbie on the egg although I've owned an egg for a long time. But shortly after I bought my egg, my life went to hell so basically I used it as an open charcoal grill to cook burgers and never really learned very much about it. Well now life finally getting back to normal so I going back and trying to learn to use the egg for what it was meant to do.

My wife always does a crown roast for Christmas dinner. This year for the first time ever, her whole family was over to our house for Christmas dinner. So I cooked the crown roast on the egg. It was supposed to be a big crown roast. But when she went to pick it up, it was only a small single loin roast. She she went to another store and bought a second crown roast. So now I had to cook two crown roast and they were different sizes so they would cook differently.

Now while I can now control the temperature pretty easily with just the dampers, I have the new Egg Genius which can also control the temperature and the provide the pit and meat temperature readings on my phone. 

So I cleaned out the egg all the way and put in BGE charcoal and fired up the egg with an electric starter. Once I had the fire established, I put the Egg genius on and set it up and let it finish bringing the egg up to temperature. While I waited for the egg to stabilize, I made a quick trip to the grocery store. While I was at the store, I monitored the pit temperature so I knew it was ready by the time I checked out.