Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Cochinita Pibil

Options
Botch
Botch Posts: 15,494
edited May 2018 in EggHead Forum
This was made on a PBS cooking show yesterday, and the grocery store had BOGO sale on "Smithfield Prime" pork butts, so set up to make it today.  
Once the sauce is made, the raw pork is thrown in (no browning first) and parts of the meat brown as the sauce evaporates. They did it in the oven but I used Mr. Egg with maple smoke.  

The recipe also included make-your-own pickled onions (something I've never done before) and make-your-own hotsauce (ditto).  Both were excellent and keepers.  

Had some issues, however.  First, what I thought was pork butt was actually loin roast, so the texture probably wasn't right. I'd buttoned up the egg before I'd toasted the tortillas; zapped them in the microwave but they fell completely apart.  I toasted the next round on a burner, that helped but not much.  Finally, this dish could use some white mexican cheese; next time.  
Also used my SMOBOT for the first time; laptop couldn't see the unit's wifi, and the regulator didn't move at all (I'm very bad at setting up electronics so its just a matter of playing with it a bit).  

Tin soldiers and Johnson's coming...

Comments

• Mattman3969
    Mattman3969 Posts: 10,457
    Options
    That looks awesome thanks for telling the do’s and don’ts 

-----------------------------------------

analyze adapt overcome

2008 -Large BGE. 2013- Small BGE and 2015 - Mini. Henderson, Ky.
  • UncleBilly
    UncleBilly Posts: 225
    Options