Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Pork Butt -- A few more questions -- Turbo and Foil?

Options
Kjunbob
Kjunbob Posts: 118
As some of you can tell from my other postings, I am a rookie at the Egg, wanting to graduate in EggHeadSchool.  

Two Questions -- At least:

1.  I am about to do my first Pork Butt tomorrow (7 #), after only doing a few chickens prior, and am reading about Turbo.  I presume that means a higher temperature cook.  I think that I will start around 275 and monitor it, and then crank it up a bit if needed to get it done. I want is done by dinner, and will put it on in the morning, probably around 9.  Rain is predicted, so I may have to alter my plans a bit so that I can get the Egg going.  Any thoughts on this?

2,  I read that some people take the Butt off and foil it about midway through.  Why do this?  Is it to help it get through the "Stall" that I have read about?  To minimize the smoke taste?  To reduce the Bark?  Could you please clarify here?  

Thanks
Large Egg.  New Orleans Area

Comments

• JethroVA
    JethroVA Posts: 1,251
    Options
    Re: turbo temp, I do my butts around 300-320.  Takes about 7-8 hours for a 10 lb butt.  Re: foil, yes it helps push through the stall be restricting evaporation.   Softens up the bark though which isn't an issue for me but some folks prefer a crispier bark. 
    Richmond and Mathews County, VA. Large BGE, Weber gas, little Weber charcoal. Vintage ManGrates. Little reddish portable kamado that shall remain nameless here.  Very Extremely Stable Genius. 
  • JethroVA
    JethroVA Posts: 1,251
    Options