Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Baby back ribs advise...

Chase2016
Chase2016 Posts: 36
edited January 2017 in EggHead Forum
Hey everyone gonna try my first ribs on the BGE this weekend. Looks like from what I'm reading in a lot of post I'm going to try around 275 indirect for about 4 hrs. Do you rap them in foil at all during the cook or just put them on without foil set it and let them roll? Thanks for any input as I don't have much experience at all with ribs on the grill, and I am BRAND new to the BGE. Ribs are one of my favorite foods and I want to learn how to nail them on the BGE!

Comments

• paqman
    paqman Posts: 4,661
    They will be good if you don't wrap them in foil but if you want a fall off the bone texture, in my experience, you need to wrap with a few tablespoons of liquid for one hour.  I prefer almost fall off the bone so I wrap for just 45 minutes.  I like to use apple juice or cider vinegar as a liquid.  Some people add honey but at 275F, you risk burning it so I would avoid unless you add it toward the end of the cook.  Depending on the size of your egg, it may be a good idea to put foil on the ends of the racks after an hour or so to avoid burning the ends.

good luck!

edited January 2017
    Paqman said it all. Now a days I just keep it simple stupid. Smoke, rub, and time. Around 4-5 hours if you pick up the rack about half way and the other half is limp, then your good to go. Likely the only time in your life that's a good thing.