Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

First fire and cook in my new BGE Large - Quick question

Options
kdatrio
kdatrio Posts: 22

So I am new to the group and from the clean Egg you can tell this is my first fire going. Made a quick Pork Tenderloin for the wife and I. Keeping it below 350 for the seal, but had an issue in the beginning where it jumped to 475 - 495 for a little while (I am still learning control. Why do I need to keep it below 350 for the first two cooks and do I need to worry that I jumped a little this time?

Thanks and I look forward to many years and meals on this Egg.
##############################################################
"I guess I have drank the kool-aid, hmmmm I bet kool-aid would taste good on the BGE"

1 - LBGE, 1 - "almost" retired gas grill
Post office says Alexander, AR - but really in Avilla, AR

Comments

• DMW
    DMW Posts: 13,832
    Options
    You don't need to keep it below 350*, don't worry, be happy.

Welcome to the cult, lock up your wallet.
    They/Them
    Morgantown, PA

XL BGE - S BGE - KJ Jr - HB Legacy - BS Pizza Oven - 30" Firepit - King Kooker Fryer -  PR72T - WSJ - BS 17" Griddle - XXL BGE  - BS SS36" Griddle - 2 Burner Gasser - Pellet Smoker
  • tikigriller
    tikigriller Posts: 1,389
    edited October 2016
    Options
    You are fine. First few cooks are about your gasket protection is all. If you can't think of enough to cook at those temps, just burn and practice temp control. No meat at risk and you break it in and gain a good amount of knowledge.