Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Two Butt Cook Time--- Question?

Options
GaryDZ
GaryDZ Posts: 23
I am by no means an expert-- but I have about 12 butts of experience.

I have not been able to figure this out--- I even asked a couple Engineers a thermodynamic question.  Both gave slightly different answers and neither was sure.  Maybe some here can explain it.

When I cook a single butt (8-9.5 pounds) I usually cook it at 225F (Dome Temp) for about 1.25-1.5 hours/pound--- to get to a center (probe) temp of 195-200F.

Here is the question---  Why does it usually take nearly twice the time to cook 2-- if they are not touching.  

Thoughts---

I can accept that it would require the vents to be open more to achieve a dome temp of 225F with both butts---since they will be absorbing the heat... and that it will burn charcoal faster....   

Why, does it take 2x the time ---if the butts are surrounded by 225F heat in both cases?   I would think that as long as the surrounding temp is 225--- the heat would penetrate at the same rate-whether it is one or two--just take more charcoal to do two.

Comments

• Ozzie_Isaac
    Ozzie_Isaac Posts: 19,044
    Options
    Interesting.  2, if they are not touching takes me only slightly longer than 1.
    A bison’s level of aggressiveness, both physical and passive, is legendary. - NPS
  • Ozzie_Isaac
    Ozzie_Isaac Posts: 19,044
    Options
    This took me only a little longer than 1 butt, granted the top ones finished first ...

A bison’s level of aggressiveness, both physical and passive, is legendary. - NPS
  • johnnyp