Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Trouble with Boston Butt not getting to 195 degrees

Options
Hey all. Just cooked my first Boston Butt on the large egg.  Let me preface that not only am I new to the BGE, I am new at BBQ'ing as a whole.  Butt (pardon the pun) man am I loving this egg. Filet, pizza, chicken wings, have been outstanding. I am now working to perfect the ribs, brisket and but . 

That being said, I have gotten a lot of guidance here on the forum.  So here is a replay of my cook. 

I had a small 2.5lb butt dry rubbed over night and ready to go.  I loaded up the egg lump and cherry smoking wood.  I stabilized at 240 and was repared for a 5 hour cook (2 hrs per is the general rule of thumb, correct?)

Well after 5 hours, the butt looked and smelled great, however the internal temperature never went north of 160 degrees. I know I need to get to 195 in order for the pork to pull properly.  Since I was running out of time being Sunday and the need to get the kid to sleep, I chose to wrap it in foil and slice it.  It was delicious, but was kind of bummed I couldn't get the temp up to 195 and get that soft pulled pork. 

I read something about stalling temp?  Can someone help shed some light what I did wrong?  

Do I just need to wait longer.  Again, it was only 2.5lbs for me and the wife so I didn't think I would need something like 8 hours. 

Thanks in advance for the advice. 

Best. 

Comments

• swordsmn
    swordsmn Posts: 683
    edited October 2015
    Options
    As someone said earlier, ironically the small fellas can sometimes take LONGER.