Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Stuffed Pork Loin

Options
DieselkW
DieselkW Posts: 894
We are entering a cold spell, and I wanted to use up a pork loin, this is my first attempt at this one.

Winter egging is different, for something so well insulated, it sure requires a LOT more fuel and vent adjustments to compensate for the ambient temperature.

Butterfly the loin into 4 even sections, halve it almost all the way through, open like a book. Then carefully halve each side of the book, working from the "spine" out, so you have have 4 connected sections of approximately equal thickness. Pound down any obviously too thick sections if you're inclined. Then make some stuffing:

Bacon fried, grease drained. Shallots fried in a little bacon grease while you're chopping the bacon into little tiny pieces. Put the bacon back in, add a half cup of ham bouillon (chicken if you don't have any ham flavored) and reduce for a few minutes. The bacon will plump up a bit. Add spinach, about 3 cups fresh - I just fill the pan with spinach and whatever other dark greens I find in the fridge. Let that just wilt - less than a minute.

Cool the frying pan mixture while you're setting up the egg in the freezing ar*se cold. Indirect - 250f. I bought 4 chunks of apricot wood for this cook, peach works as well. I imagine any fruit wood would work - I stay away from the strong flavored smokes like hickory or mesquite with pork, ymmv.

Note: At 10 degrees or so, to get the egg up to 250f, I had to use summer vent settings that would have gotten me to 400f.