Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Speaking of Chicken....

I had so much success with my butts/ribs cook last weekend - I'm feeling rather bold.  Thought I would try a couple whole yard birds this weekend between the copious amounts of rain we have been enjoying of late.  Anyone care to recommend a good method for a 3-4 hour cook.  Remember, I'm still learning here.

Thanks!
BJ
Men of integrity expect to be believed, but when they aren't, they allow time to prove them right.

Comments

• robnybbq
    robnybbq Posts: 1,911
    Chicken - spatchcock - 1 hour 400 Raised direct - best chicken you will ever have.

Garnerville, NY
  • OVERULD
    OVERULD Posts: 47
    Thanks!  That sounds pretty tasty.  I've found a few good recipes on the forum here.  Think I'll try one.

BJ
    Men of integrity expect to be believed, but when they aren't, they allow time to prove them right.
  • Mickey
    Mickey Posts: 19,669
    Dry rub or bbq'ed spatchcock. Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos
    Salado TX & 30A  FL: Egg Family: 3 Large and a very well used Mini, added a Mini Max when they came out (I'm good for now). Plus a couple Pit Boss Pellet Smokers.   

• BOWHUNR
    BOWHUNR Posts: 1,487
    Spatchcock is the bomb!  Split it, season it and let it sit uncovered in the fridge for a minimum of four hours to dry the skin out (more is better IMO and it will help for a crispy end product).  I haven't done whole birds any other way for four years.  In fact, it was my first egg cook in July of 2009.