Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

3 lb. Bone-In Boston Butt smoking time?

Options
I am a newbie on the Large BGE (really have only done ribs in terms of low and slow) and I am looking to smoke a 3 lb. bone-in Boston Butt for the wife and I.

I am using a mix of pecan and cherry wood, have the butt rubbed and ready to go.  

The question:  how long should it go for?  I'd rather do it longer at lower temps than something quicker (I have the time today).  Any help would be greatly appreciated!  Thanks all!
Large BGE
Lexington, SC

Comments

• brianwdmn
    brianwdmn Posts: 371
    Options
    Set up the egg for in-direct (plate setter legs up) and stabilize at 250-275. A drip pan is also a good idea, but set it on small wads of foil to create a gap between the plate setter and the drip pan. If you have a remote probe thermometer set it for 190. Let it go till the thermometer says its done. There are rough formulas you can use to estimate the total cooki
    Marietta, East Cobb, GA
  • Maizeandbrew18
    Options
    brianwdmn said:
    Set up the egg for in-direct (plate setter legs up) and stabilize at 250-275. A drip pan is also a good idea, but set it on small wads of foil to create a gap between the plate setter and the drip pan. If you have a remote probe thermometer set it for 190. Let it go till the thermometer says its done. There are rough formulas you can use to estimate the total cooki
    Thanks, Brian!  I just got a Maverick so I'll keep an eye on the temp for 190*.  
    Large BGE
    Lexington, SC
  • Lit
    Lit Posts: 9,053
    Options