Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Newbie Needs Steak Cooking Tips!

Options
Hello Everyone! 

I am as "green" as my new egg. I grilled on a gas grill forever. Exactly one year ago I switched over to a charcoal grill. I just purchased a large egg with the small table on Saturday. I got the cover and the cast iron cooking grid. So far that is all of the accessories that I have. 

The only things I "normally" grill are steak, hamburgers, ribs, and chicken breasts. Like I said I am a newbie! I do however plan on using it for more than that.

I haven't lit my grill yet, and from what I read I am not supposed to get above 350 or so degrees for the first couple of cooks in order to let the seal cure. 

For my first cook I am going to grill steak. My steaks are ribeyes 1 1/4" thick. What do you experts recommend temperature and time wise for grilling my steaks? 

I have a LOT to learn, and I really don't want to ruin perfectly good steaks through ignorance on my part. I plan on using my cast iron cooking grid for the steaks. 

Any help you guys can give me will be appreciated!

Louisville, GA - 2 Large BGE's

Comments

• HogHeaven
    HogHeaven Posts: 326
    Options