Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Thanksgiving After-Action Review...

Options
jrich
jrich Posts: 17
Hi folks, I'm new to both the big green egg and this wonderful forum! As a little background, I just got my large BGE up and going a few months ago with delicious results on ribs and butts. I then tried my hand on a turkey. I did a trial run with a 12 pound turkey a few weeks before Thanksgiving. I did the Alton Brown/Good Eats brine recipe, spatchcocked the bird, and smoked with a single chunk of cherry wood. 350 F, cooked in a little over 90 mins until breast meat was 165 F. Fabulous flavor, best turkey I've had to date. So I tried it a second time on thanksgiving, same setup, except a 20 pound bird (maybe this was my problem?) Cooked it until the breast registered 165, and drumstick was180 (this is what I had read was safe temps etc.) Around 2 1/2 to 3 hours. After the bird rested, upon cutting him up, there were multiple areas scattered around the breast meat and dark meat that where completely not cooked (that jelly consistency), while others where fine. Essentially inedible, very disappointing. (Luckily we had two other turkeys, and plenty of meat, but my showcase smoked bird flopped.) Any pointers or suggestions? Was the bird too big for a large BGE? Any advice would be appreciated, All the best... -Seoul Big Green Egger

Comments

• Eggcelsior
    Eggcelsior Posts: 14,414
    Options