Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Disposing of ash

lensegg
lensegg Posts: 35
edited July 2012 in EggHead Forum
Hi everyone.  I'm kinda new at this (got my LBGE 6 days ago and LOVING IT).  You guys (and gals) are awesome in the help you give no matter the topic.  I think I bought the egg primarily because of this forum.  Forgive my newbie question but can the ash be disposed of in my garden or should I just throw it out with the garbage?
Thanks in advance.

Comments

• BYS1981
    BYS1981 Posts: 2,533
    I am no expert, but I think dispising in your garden can change soil acidity. I dispose of mine in trash.
  • 10Driver
    10Driver Posts: 88
    edited July 2012
    I know some put ash in their garden or compost. Ash is alkaline so you are really only supposed to use it if your soil is acidic. And even then not around acid loving plants. I don't know what my soil ph is so I don't use it in my garden yet. But being a new egghead I haven't really produced that much ash yet. Another egg benefit. :)
  • Serial Griller
    Serial Griller Posts: 1,186

if you are back east or midwest I'd say put it in the garden.Out here in Colorado..no!

I have an ash can I put it in to make sure the coals are completely out before putting them out for the trash pick up.

• 10Driver
    10Driver Posts: 88
    I think the ashes being cold goes without saying Don't most clean the ashes out of the bottom of their egg before a cook? I was addressing whether or not the ashes are actually beneficial to your garden. But your point is definitely valid.
  • Griffin
    Griffin Posts: 8,200