Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Country Style Ribs on Big Green Egg

GrannyG
GrannyG Posts: 0
edited January 2012 in Pork
I'm very new to the Big Green Egg.  I bought my husband the large egg several years ago and I have to say that in our 37 years of marriage, it was by far the best gift he ever received.  He had mastered Boston butts and Prime Rib.  He died unexpectedly in October, 2009 and the egg sat unused for almost two years.  For Thanksgiving this past year, my son and I successfully smoked two turkeys.  We're wanting to try some country style ribs.  Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• GrannyG,  I have done country ribs low temp (250) indirect on the grill with drip pan filled with onions, garlic, bell peppers, Hatch chili, bay leaf, thyme and beer (that was also the marinade).  The cook time is a about 4+ hours.
    I have also braised country ribs directly on the egg at 325-350 until fork tender and then seared them right before serving.  When I braise foods on the egg I set up my grill to be slightly above the felt line that way I am cooking up in the dome.