Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Pork Shoulder Picnic

Options
Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Hi, everyone! I'm relatively new to cooking with the BGE and the barbecue scene. I presently have a Boston pork butt on the BGE, following Mr. Ward's wonderful and detailed recipe. My question is what is the difference between a pork butt and a pork shoulder picnic? Does the pork shoulder picnic require a different cooking process as opposed to the pork butt? I would appreciate any comments. Thank you all.

Comments

• Grumpa
    Grumpa Posts: 861
    Options
    Rick Windham,[p]Welcome to the family. You have the cut that is my favorite. Just cook it up the same way you would a butt. The shoulder contains a butt as well as fresh ham portions and us usually covered by the skin which can be cut away and discarded when you pull the pork. You are in for some great eating, just stay with your orginal plan.[p]Bob

• Spin
    Spin Posts: 1,375
    Options