Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

plate setter / raised grid

Options
reader40
reader40 Posts: 69
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
hi all,

so i am going to smoke a corned beef tonight and have a question.

I am new to the egging scene and have basically no tools for it. FOr smoking this beef, should i go with a plate setter upside down and then put an grill grate on or just make one of those raised grids with the brackets like some folks have?

I called the local BGE dealer and the plate setters for the meduims are on sale for 34.99 if that is of any worth.

Comments

• Bacchus
    Bacchus Posts: 6,019
    Options
    Thats a good deal on the Plate setter. Get it and use it "legs up" with grid resting on top. Drip pan under grid if desired.
  • Photo Egg
    Photo Egg Posts: 12,110
    Options
    I'm with Bacchus.
    Buy the platesetter and your done.
    Thank you,
    Darian

Galveston Texas
  • Woodbutcher
    Woodbutcher Posts: 1,017
    Options
    I would do the corned beef indirect so a platesetter would be more helpful than a raised grid. Unless you have firebricks to put on the first grid.
  • Grandpas Grub
    Grandpas Grub Posts: 14,226
    Options