Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Pittsburg Style Steak - how to get the best crust?

Options
Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I am new to BGE life - several months, use 1 to 2 times per week. Good eatin' includes pork chops, chicken, brisket, salmon, steaks, prime rib. The results have all been great because of the BGE , but also thanks to TRex and others who have posted such great info! I owe a lot of good eatin' to your archives.[p]However, I want a great Pittsburg style steak and I've yet to get a crust like a steak house steak. Since, I like crust, searching the achives just raises more questions:[p] For great crust / sear:[p] - Use olive oil, clearifed butter, dry rub or mustard? Which gives the best crust?[p] - An iron skllet in the BGE seems to work a bit better than searing directly on the BGE grill, but could searing be done better on the stove in a skillet? Then finish in the BGE after the TRex 20 minute relax wait?

You pro's who are getting a great crust - what's the best method?[p]Much thanks![p]

Comments

• mad max beyond eggdome
    Options
    Charles,