Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

I did it!

EggcitedinNJ
EggcitedinNJ Posts: 91
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
After spending most of the summer reading this forum and trying to get a handle on what I was getting myself into I took the plunge today and bought a Large BGE. I'll have it on Tuesday so I have some time to ponder what my first cook will be.

To this point my only backyard experience has been with gas grills, lately a Weber Genesis Gold and I've never used a smoker before so I know that there's a learning curve I have to climb. Honestly, I'm both excited and nervous, yet confident that with the repostitory of information and helpful folks here I'll soon be producing meals that I can be proud of.

Comments

• Little Steven
    Little Steven Posts: 28,817
    EggcitedinNJ,

Welcome. A lot of people seem to over complicate the egg. It is pretty straightforward and you will get good advice here when you need it.

Steve

Steve 

Caledon, ON

• Cpt'n Cook
    Cpt'n Cook Posts: 1,917
    Welcome aboard and good luck with your new grill.
  • Jeffersonian
    Jeffersonian Posts: 4,244
    You'll never regret your decision for a moment
  • Bordello
    Bordello Posts: 5,926
    Welcome to the Cult, recommend you keep your first few cooks simple as you get to learn your Egg. So long as you know about the flashback and do your best to avoid it you should be fine.

Great people here so feel free to ask away.

Regards,
    Bordello
  • Thanks for the warm welcome.