Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Sweating/ mold/mildew

Options
Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Hi,, I'm a newbie,, I've owned my large egg for about a year now,, The question I have is...., After I'm done cooking on my egg, I shut the lid, leave the bottom vent open, after the charcoal fire goes out, put the the ceramic top vent lid on it and after it sits for a few days, I open the lid and there is sweating, and mold/mildew over everything... WHY???...

Comments

• Unknown
    Options
    Condensation.

I would think it would be reduced if when closed the bottom vent as well.

less humid airflow into the egg should result is less condensation. problem solved!

What is the thinking behind leaving the bottom vent open?
  • Lovenbrau
    Lovenbrau Posts: 307
    Options
    When you pull what ever you are cooking off the grill, take the daisy wheel off and set it on the grill. Then close the bottom and put the cap on the top. You will be able to use unburned charcoal and keeps the wheel from freezing up.
  • Unknown
    Options
    Hi,, thank you for your answers,, Originally I shut all the vents,,and had sweating and mold,., then I thought maybe I should leave the bottom vent open to let air in so it would Not Sweat.. but it still does and still mildews.. WHY?????...
  • Unknown
    Options
    No problem, I'm glad to help.

First off - where do you live???? It sounds like a sauna to be that humid!

The correct method for shutting down and egg is:

1) you take food off
    2) put on the ceramic cap and shut the lower vent.