Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

OT-Kids and Drugs

Options
Carolina Q
Carolina Q Posts: 14,831
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I work in the health industry and saw this article at work today. Very frightening, especially for those who have high school aged children. Thought it was worth posting...

News Review From Harvard Medical School -- 1 in 5 Teens Abuses Prescription Drugs
About 1 out of 5 high school students has taken a prescription drug that a doctor did not prescribe, a new survey finds. The government survey of risky teen behavior is conducted every two years. The 2009 survey was the first to ask about prescription drug abuse. It included 16,000 teenagers. The abused drugs included pain pills, attention deficit drugs used as study aids, and others. Use was highest among 12th graders. About 1 in 4 seniors said they had used a drug without a prescription. The Associated Press wrote about the survey.

By Claire McCarthy, M.D.
Harvard Medical School

What Is the Doctor's Reaction?

Parents, have you checked your pill bottles recently? If you have teens in your house, you might want to do just that -- because one-fifth of U.S. high school students are taking prescription drugs that weren't prescribed for them.

The Youth Risk Behavioral Survey is given every other year to high school students across the United States. In 2009, more than 16,000 students answered questions about health risk behaviors. The survey is very comprehensive. It asks about everything from drug use to sex to diet and exercise habits.