Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Doing a ceramic top

Options
APDHARLEY
APDHARLEY Posts: 48
edited November -1 in EGG Table Forum
Hey Guys,
I have a typical table bulit from Naked Whizs plans. I used 2x4 and decking board. I really want to redo the top with ceramic tile. I have never done this before but feel certain after watching alot of HGTV that I can do it. I need to know should I use concrete backing board or will plywood work. And I would like suggestions for the size and type of tile. THanks in advance and all advice is truly appreciated!

DSC_0064.jpg
This is my current table but it does not look this nice anymore LOL it is covered in sacues charcol lump dust and various other unknown elememts.

Comments

• WhackMaster719
    Options
    I would recommend that you do use the cement backer board. The great value of cement board is that it does not rot, warp, grow mold, or deteriorate, when subjected to water. Wood alone obviously is not a great material to use in wet applications such as outside. As for the tile, it is personal preference... The smaller tile, the more you will get to see of it if you choose one with a nice design. Good Luck, post pics!
  • hutchybones
    hutchybones Posts: 45
    Options
    Agree with the concrete backer board. On the other hand (regarding the size of the tile) if you use 12X12" or even 16X16" tiles, it's considerably less work and less grout to deal with (grout will stain and crack regardless of how well you seal it)

th_IMGP0080.jpghttp://i684.photobucket.com/albums/vv207/hutcheye/th_IMGP0072.jpg
  • Capt Frank