Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Last night\'s dinner party

Options
Dimple's Mom
Dimple's Mom Posts: 1,740
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Last night we had some friends over for a 'literary' dinner party. Everyone was supposed to bring a recent or long-time favorite book to talk about. It was really just an excuse for a dinner party. With a theme. Which gave me the excuse for fun with the decor...

Table setting
IMG_13562.jpg

Each place setting had a book mark (party favor to take home) with a quote about food from a novel
IMG_13612.jpg

I'm a certified floral designer and last weekend I was in town and picked up a floral magazine which had the idea of making leaves out of book pages, which I thought was amazingly timely! I bought a hideous bouquet from the supermarket, took it apart, added lilacs and apple blossoms from our yard, and arranged it into this
IMG_13453.jpg

This menu was rounded out by two appetizers that guests brought (stuffed mushrooms, a red pepper dip with bruchetta) and pancetta-wrapped asparagus which we grilled on the egg and then it somehow managed to largely disappear as it was carried into the house to take its place on the buffet table
IMG_13712.jpg

6 meatloaves, 3 on each egg, were smoked over guava wood
IMG_13652.jpg

And sloppily garnished with rosemary (I am the world's WORST garnisher; I'm embarrassed to even post this photo)
IMG_1368.jpg