Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

A Virgin Smoker

Options
Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I am a TOTAL novice when it comes to smoking anything! I'm looking for some advice on the use of chips etc. Do I just put them right on the fire? Do I need to soak them? Will I have to get them out before I use my egg again? HELP!!! but please be gentle after all I am a virgin

Comments

• Nature Boy
    Nature Boy Posts: 8,687
    Options
    Frank,
    Check out the discussion below. It has some good info.[p]Some general tips:
    Chips are good right in the fire when you want a quick burst of smoke for grilling, or mixed throughout your lump for a nice light consistent smoke. I like chunks better for low slows. I am with those that don't see any benefit in soaking. Give the smoke time to clean up before putting on your meat. Pork butts can stand a good bit of smoke, briskets a bit less, but they can also take some good smoke. Poultry, fish and lean pork really suck it up, so go light if you use any wood. [p]Everyone's preferences are different, but I'd recommend starting light and seeing what you like. Remember, the lump alone will provide a good bit of smoke flavor for many cooks.[p]I have a small brisket on now, and I used one large chunk of JDB's heartwood cherry right in the fire, and waited a half hour for it to get established. You want a thin blue smoke, and not a thick tan or gray smoke.[p]Just some of what I have found, and just my opinion. Good luck!
    Chris

[ul][li]About smoking woods, a few threads down[/ul]
    DizzyPigBBQ.com