Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Lump Availability - Noob Question

Options
Deaneaux
Deaneaux Posts: 45
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I'm a noob to egg'in, so cut me some slack on the question.

I'm reading in places on the forum about people "stocking up" on lump for the winter. Do places stop selling lump country-wide? Is this a regional thing? I live in Austin, Texas, so I wouldn't think that places would stop selling lump since there is really not a true winter.

Fire away!

Comments

• bcrawfo2
    bcrawfo2 Posts: 85
    Options
    Dean,
    I've been wondering the same thing. I live in Delaware...we have 2/3 of a winter. I'm pretty sure Lump isn't available here in the winter at the big boxes.
    I would expect (please correct me) that local specialty dealers would have BGE Lump in a pinch and that we could order from Wicked Good (available year-round???)
  • Ex-Gasman
    Ex-Gasman Posts: 287
    Options
    I live in NC. Our local Kmart is out, I bought the last 6 bags, Walmart is out I got the last 18 bags,Home Depot is sold out. I found a source at Sports Authority that said they carry it year round, but that is 40 miles from me. I can get BGE locally for 25$ a bag. Thats twice the price and not twice as good. So for now I have about 24 bags stashed.
  • Panhandle Smoker
    Options