Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Need the basics

Options
ewillie
ewillie Posts: 155
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I bought a Large BGE yesterday, my first. I have wanted one for years, but I've got no experience.

I know I'll need to experiment, but I wanted to make sure I understand the basics.

Can you all recommend a good place to reference the basics without bothering everone here?

I'm looking for the basic, first time how-to stuff.

I'm really excited about my new Egg, I look forward to spending time here learning about it from you guys.

Cheers, Erik

Comments

• mattm
    mattm Posts: 56
    Options
    did you get a dvd with your egg? If so that is a start. Otherwise go to the BGE website and there are videos, etc. Also try nakedwhiz.com. That should get you started.
  • FlaPoolman
    FlaPoolman Posts: 11,677
    Options
    You'll find a lot of great info here. Check out the whole site. Welcome and don't be afraid to ask questions as it's almost a competition to see who can help first.

http://www.nakedwhiz.com/ceramic.htm
  • Little Steven
    Little Steven Posts: 28,817
    Options
    ewille,

Don't be scared. Put some lump in to the top of the firebox, light it and play with the temperature control. Start with the lower damper open about an inch and the daisy half open. Try to stabilize at 300, don't go much higher for the first couple of times. When you do that throw something on and cook it.

Steve

Steve 

Caledon, ON

• Mainegg
    Mainegg Posts: 7,787
    Options