Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Pork Shoulder Blade Boston Roast ???

Options
greeneggonmyface
greeneggonmyface Posts: 29
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Okay. I have been cooking for many years, but I still get confused by all the different names for cuts of meat.
This morning my local market had this on sale "pork shoulder blade boston roast" and I bought a 4.22lb cut. I also just got my large BGE about two weeks ago and have been lurking here ever since. I really want to cook this on the egg tomorrow evening but have no idea of how to do it. i am perusing the many recipes shared here and have the wonderful cookbook from Bill.
The trouble seems to be this. What the heck is this cut?! Is it a Boston Butt? Is this what you make bbq pulled pork from?
Please help! Thanks!!

Comments

• Nature Boy
    Nature Boy Posts: 8,687
    Options
    greeneggonmyface,
    That be a boston butt. And yes, pulled pork is best from this cut. Sounds like a pretty small one. Is it boneless???[p]Anywho, you are prolly looking at 10 hours or so at 250, to reach 190-200 internal. Rest it for 15 -30 minutes, and pull away![p]Enjoy, and let us know how you make out!
    Chris

DizzyPigBBQ.com
    Twitter: @dizzypigbbq
    Facebook: Dizzy Pig Seasonings
    Instagram: @DizzyPigBBQ
  • QBabe
    QBabe Posts: 2,275
    Options
    greeneggonmyface,[p]I just did my first one.... see the thread below called "RE: Pork Butt - Low and Slow - I DID IT!"[p]I've tried to put the link into the message, but it's my first attempt so let's see if it worked![p]QBabe
    :-)

• Strmn2Smoke
    Options