Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

temp control

Options
GreenEgger
GreenEgger Posts: 38
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Hey, I'm a newbie with a BGE and just getting a handle on everything and wasn't really sure about one thing...

When cooking at higher temps (say 600 or more) and then needing to bring it down pretty significantly lower (maybe 400 or less), what is the best way to do so quickly? I haven't tried anything like that yet and have been sticking to some lower temp cooks to start out, but wasn't sure how tough or easy that was to pull off.

Thanks in advance!
Brian

Comments

• mattk330
    mattk330 Posts: 74
    Options
    I have the same question! Glad you asked. If I sear a fat steak at 600+, how do I finish it off? If you shut down your egg it takes 30+ minutes to come down to 400.
  • stike
    stike Posts: 15,597
    Options
    it should get fairly quickly down to 400 unless it has been at 600 for a long time.

when you start up, the fire should be burning clean and ready to go when you initially hit sears temps. searing at 90 seconds a side then shutting vents will bring you down quick.

if you need to start the grill and prep food, or hang out, don't take it to 700. park it at 400. then open vents when it's time to sear. sear, then shut down.

you can always go reverse. roast at lower temps 250-400, then sear at the end
    ed egli avea del cul fatto trombetta -Dante
  • Hustling Hare
    Options
    You both have good questions for newbies. You'll learn.