Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Baby Backs: 3-1-1 or 1-3-1?

Options
Parrothead Marty
Parrothead Marty Posts: 6
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I have 3 racks of baby backs to cook in the morning. Does anyone have a preference of 1-3-1 or
3-1-1?

Comments

• RRP
    RRP Posts: 25,898
    Options
    Parrothead Marty,
    I've never heard of 1-3-1 before, but just imagine 3 hours wrapped in foil would be mushy yucky results. Stick with the tried and true 3-1-1.

Re-gasketing America one yard at a time.
  • Mary
    Mary Posts: 190
    Options
    RRP,
    OK, I'm new to the EGGsperience!! Can you explain 3-1-1?

• Unknown
    Options
    Parrothead Marty, I like 3 or 4 (unwrapped until they are done), then foil them, wrap in newspapers, towels, blanket, or whatever until it's time to eat. Never have found that a 3-1-1, 3-2-1, or any such combination, makes them any better.

• RRP
    Options
    Mary,
    essentially it's 3 hours indirect - your choice to flip or not - then 1 hour wrapped tightly in foil and back on the egg of course - then unwrap for another hour near the end you sauce if you want. Hence 3-1-1 term. It's not an exact thing as each set of ribs are slightly different, but it's a proven popular egg rib method.

• Unknown
    Options