Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Need Help Please in Choosing my First BGE

Options
Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum

Hi folks! I am new to BGE (but am probably only a few days away from joining the ranks!). However, I do have one question regarding size before I make the purchase:[p]For a family of 3 (including one monster teenaged boy with an appetite to match!), what size of Egg would suffice? Steaks, chicken pieces, ribs, hamburgers and fish, maybe whole chickens would cover 95 % of what we would cook. I prefer the medium, but suspect the small size would probably do -- I am writing from Canada, and the exchange rate has hammered our dollar so badly that I need to check. I would really have to justify the $ 250 Cdn. extra a medium costs over a small![p]I appreciate any advice, and look forward to buying my (first) Egg![p]Thanks kindly, [p]Doug Tansley
Kanata Ontario
Canada

Comments

• JJ
    JJ Posts: 951
    Options
    Doug Tansley,
    Go for the large.

• Tim M
    Tim M Posts: 2,410
    Options
    Doug Tansley,[p]The large is always the best choice if you can have only one but a medium will do what you want and do it well, but don't go smaller.[p]Tim
  • Char-Woody
    Char-Woody Posts: 2,642
    Options
    Doug Tansley, when you start making jerky, pulled pork, brisket, chicken, turkey, your going to be amazed how the young mans appetite is going to soar. The large is the only choice, unless you cook just for him. :-)