Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Smokin'

fogcutter
fogcutter Posts: 5
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Howdy all.[p]My wife got me a BGE for Chrismtas or as I like to call it...the best gift evar!![p]I've already done a couple of cooks on it and while I'm still learning the results have been very tasty.[p]I have a question though. The BGE is sold as a smoker and I've done a couple of smoked meats that came out great but...[p]What's the difference between the BGE and one of those large box smokers? You know, the ones that take a day and a half to smoke meats etc.. I know all of the obvious physical differences and all but does meat smoked in one of those big boxes taste any more or less smoke flavored than something done in the BGE?[p]Thanks.

Comments

• sprinter
    sprinter Posts: 1,188
    fogcutter,[p]Those big smokers are designed to smoke low and slow. They dont really have the capability to "grill" meats like steaks or burgers. They are designed mainly for a single purpose, low and slow cooking with very stable and reliable temperature control.[p]The egg has this capability for low low and slow but also has the capability to do the hot grilling as well. So, you get the ability to do both on the egg.[p]Not going to get into the +/- of either one or how well one does over the other one, hopefully this thread wont degrade into that. I hope this answered your question.[p]Troy
  • stike
    stike Posts: 15,597
    sprinter,
    well said

ed egli avea del cul fatto trombetta -Dante
  • sprinter