Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

OT Building a dining room table? OT

Options
Hey everyone. The wife is looking for a big dining room table like seats 8 to 10 but a nice big table is expensive and we are looking to save some money. I am not an expert by any means in wood working. I have access to a Guy with 30 years of experience in remodeling/ building houses and all of his tools as well as mine. Has anybody ever built one and would you advise me to wait until I have more experience? Here is a picture of the legs on the table my wife liked. Sorry it's the only one I got.
Dyersburg, TN

Comments

• Legume
    Legume Posts: 14,627
    Options
    I'm not a skilled woodworker either, but it seems to me the legs/base would be the most difficult to make, where refinishing can be much easier.  I wonder if you couldn't find a used table (would take some searching) that has a base you like and then build a top to your specs?
  • xfire_ATX
    xfire_ATX Posts: 1,115
    Options
    Legume said:
    I'm not a skilled woodworker either, but it seems to me the legs/base would be the most difficult to make, where refinishing can be much easier.  I wonder if you couldn't find a used table (would take some searching) that has a base you like and then build a top to your specs?
    I was thinking the same thing.  A top that size wont be easy but it would be easier than turning legs.
    XLBGE, LBGECharbroil Gas Grill, Weber Q2000, Old Weber Kettle, Rectec RT-B380, Yeti 65, Yeti Hopper 20, RTIC 20, RTIC 20 Soft Side - Too many drinkware vessels to mention.