Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Digital Thermometer advise

Options
I just became a LBGE owner, and i have vowed not to touch it until my house sells and our family makes the move (I'm a realtor) So in the mean time I've been reading the posts about the essentials for owners and I've been slowing purchasing accessories.

This brings me to the Digital Thermometer it seems like most everyone opts for this Flameboss 200, but not coming from   Rockefeller lineage i came across this on Amazon today. So my question is can i get by with one of these less expensive thermometers? or in 6 months will i be not pleased with it, and end up buying a higher grade model.

I am totally new to all of this, but if its defiantly worth the extra $$ to do it right the first time please let me know.

Comments

• RedSkip
    RedSkip Posts: 1,400
    Options
    FB is a temp controller, has a fan to increase air flow.
    Above is a thermometer.

Two different applications, not a fair comparison.

Large BGE - McDonald, PA
  • chuckytheegghead
    chuckytheegghead Posts: 1,201
    edited January 2017
    Options
    Agree with @RedSkip, it depends what you want to be able to do with it. I have the flameboss and it's awesome. But if you want something just to measure the temp with then there are other options. So what are you wanting to do with it?
  • SmokeyPitt
    SmokeyPitt Posts: 10,490
    Options