Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Suggestions on cooking 2in steaks

Options
Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Howdy gand -
I am a newb here, own a LG BGE I love it :) - I am looking for some suggeted cooking times for ny steaks about 2 inch's thick. I like med so I am thinking 4-4-5? my wife likes well done I have no idea how to do well 7-7-7? anyways i would love to see your suggestions on grill times.[p] Thanks for looking
Mots-a

Comments

• stike
    stike Posts: 15,597
    Options
    mots-a,
    that thick will take time enough to get the center to desired temps that you might have too much 'well done' around the outside.[p]a lot of us have been taking thick steaks like yours an putting them in a ziploc, no air inside, and soaking them for an hour or so in hot-hot tap water. hot as you can from the tap.[p]that raises the temp of the steak to maybe a hundred, hundred-and-ten, rather than ice-box cold.[p]what that means is it takes less time to get the center up to 140 (or your desired temp), and so you get a good sear without overcooking a quarter-inch thickness all around just to achieve medium rare in the middle.[p]you'll find a much more even cross section when you cut it.[p]

ed egli avea del cul fatto trombetta -Dante
  • Unknown
    Options