Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Melted Gasket Questions

Options
FossilPeddler
FossilPeddler Posts: 72
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Hi all, I am a newbie and I tried my first T-Rex last night. I neglected that part about "if you smell gasket melting it is time to sear", and in fact didn't smell it until the temp was probably well over 900 degrees, and had been that hot for quite some time. As soon as I carefully opened the lid, the gooey black mess that had been the gasket ignited. Having seen messages about Eggs getting stuck shut, I left the Egg open overnight. I now have a crusty black gasket remnant on both halves. Questions:1) Is it OK to cook on it (at lower temps) until I replace the gasket? 2) Should I order a replacement BGE or I see the Rutland option on NakedWhiz's site, or is there a better option? [p]I think I can go forward without repeating this mistake, but I wish the gasket wasn't so vulnerable. This seems to me to be the only weakness of the egg, otherwise it is fantastic and I have had some great cooks.

Comments

• stike
    stike Posts: 15,597
    Options