Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Resting steaks befor eating and keeping them hot

Options
Im totally new to charcoal grilling and have never really been that much of an expert with gas grilling when it comes to cooking to the proper doneness. I've always just guesstimated grill times for steaks & burgers based on their outside appearance, take them off the grill, and pray that I got it right. Many times, they would be under cooked and I'd discover that when cutting into them - so I'd have to throw it back on for a little more time. Or worse, over cooked. 

My biggest challenge has always been the timing of the cook to eating, and I always found myself trying to eat as quickly as possible after removing from grill to retain the steaks heat. I'm quickly learning that there is a better way to do this. I've got my instant read Thermapen arriving tomorrow and plan to cook my first steaks on my new BGE on Saturday. 

So my question is, how do you balance the time between the cook and the eat to keep the steaks just right? How long do you let the steaks (say, 1" thick filet or ribeye) rest and how precisely do you leave them to rest so they don't lose too much heat before eating?  Do you wrap the steaks individually in foil or do you put cover them up in an aluminum drip pan?  Sorry if this seems like a dumb question, but I seriously have always had trouble with this and any help would be appreciated. 
XL BGE Owner Since September 2015 - So expect a lot of newbie questions and please go easy on me :-)

Comments

• BizGreenEgg
    Options