Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Buying used

Options
Hello all,

I'm a newbie here so hello everyone. A while back I was given a used medium and love it but the size of my family dictates a second medium or buying a larger one to accompany it. My question is at what price point would you consider buying a used? I know giving up the warranty is important but I assume that has a value. Just for reference, Craig's list usually has large eggs in my area for around 600-700 with various extras. Thanks everyone. 

Comments

• LadyGT
    LadyGT Posts: 109
    Options
     Why spend $700 for a used large when you can get a new one with a lifetime warranty for a little more? We bought new large for $799 in a bundle purchase. I realize different regions sell at different prices. 
  • RollTideRob
    RollTideRob Posts: 139
    Options
    I personally wouldn't go over 300 for a used medium or 500 for large. And I'm not 100% certain that I'd go that high.
    Large, Medium

Heflin, AL
  • fishlessman
    fishlessman Posts: 32,776
    Options
    ive had 3 green bases go, new with warranty is the only way for me =)
    fukahwee maine

you can lead a fish to water but you can not make him drink it
  • BYS1981
    BYS1981 Posts: 2,533
    Options
    Personally... i wouldn't buy used. 
  • Grillin_beers
    Grillin_beers Posts: 1,345
    Options
    I would probably go with a new.  The parts are really expensive if you have to buy them outside yourself.  If your firebox cracks you have more than made up the difference in price. 
    1 large BGE, Spartanburg SC