Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Newly Assimilated - Trying To Not Fear The Egg

Options

I am very familiar with the amazing food that can come off a properly tuned BGE and great cook - and after running through a few propane (hisss) units, decided to get the best. Went with a Large since it is just two people with the rare company for dinner...I'm a great cook but figure there will be a large learning curve ahead of me.

Now, I have to decide what to prepare for the first cook with ye olde low and slow advice given for the first few uses. Assuming my husband allows me to christen the egg.

Great crowd/cult you've got here!

Comments

• theyolksonyou
    theyolksonyou Posts: 18,458
    Options
    Welcome. 

learnings

1. Don't forget to burp the egg
    1a.  Don't forget to burp the egg
    2 don't chase temps and don't sweat +/- 25 from target
    3 relax and enjoy the ride
    4 don't forget to burp the egg

lots of options for first cooks. 

Ribs, spatchcock chicken, pork butt...
  • Shiff
    Shiff Posts: 1,835
    Options
    I usually recommend a spatchcock chicken as a first cook.  It usually comes out great and isn't too difficult.  There are some good instructions at:

http://www.nakedwhiz.com/spatch.htm

Large BGE
    Barry, Lancaster, PA
  • DaveRichardson
    DaveRichardson Posts: 2,324
    Options
    The most important rule.....  RELAX.  If you think too hard, you are working too hard!

LBGE #19 from North GA Eggfest, 2014

Stockbridge, GA - just south of Atlanta where we are covered up in Zombies!  #TheWalkingDead films practically next door!