Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Temperature Regulation

Options
fergi
fergi Posts: 138

I'm fairly new to the BGE and would appreciate some guidance as far as long slow cooking. What is the best way to start the grill and then regulate the temperature down to 225 degrees?

Fort Worth Texas

Large & XL Green Egg

Comments

• Chubbs
    Chubbs Posts: 6,929
    edited February 2015
    Options
    Fill lump to top of fire ring. Light in one place and leave dome open a bit. Install indirect piece and grate and close lid. As temp starts to climb shut down vents to your desired temp. I never go 225 dome as that is roughly 200 grate for long cook. For 250 (dome)  I go daisy wheel with petals open and bottom vent closed to 1/2 or less. Let smoke burn clean and have egg stable for minimum or 30 mins without temp fluctuation then on with the meat. Never over shoot temp and then try to dial back egg. That is the worst thing you can do. 
    Columbia, SC --- LBGE 2011 -- MINI BGE 2013
  • fergi
    Options

Thanks Chubbs,

I did not realize that there was that much difference between the dome temp and the grate temp. When you say petals open do you mean completely open?

I can assure you with the bottom 1/2 open and the petals open that my grill will be 400 to 500 degrees in no time flat. I'm looking for some gap recommendations if you have some suggestions.

Fort Worth Texas

Large & XL Green Egg

• Terrebandit
    Terrebandit Posts: 1,750
    edited February 2015
    Options