Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

First time cooking pork tenderloin on the egg

Options
Hello all.

Long time lurker.  Still learning.  With the egg dome thawing out, and pork tenderloin on sale at Cisco, I thought we try it.  This is my first time doing such a lean meat - only done spatchcock chicken and simple steak sear on high temp before.  
A bit disappointing overall.  Hapster was encouraging me to share some photos, so here we go. :)  

1) Here is the meat that has the poor knife work. :)  It was way too thick...

2) Here is the pork loin stuffed

3) Here it goes on the egg, raised direct.

3) Here it is cooked.  Temperature was not even.  When probing, some parts went to 160 while others were still at 120...

4) Here it is plated.  Wife made a palo salad(?), and I bought some ACE olive bread.

One piece was a bit dry, second piece I give a grade of B-/B.  Learned some valuable knife lessons on how to cut the tenderloin for rolling and especially need to keep keen eye on temperature.  My wife's feedback was - "lean pork is a hard meat to cook...".  Not a ringing endorsement, and especially I'm pretty much the only one eating it now. :)  I'm thinking next time...

- Need to do 1-2 flips and move around on the egg.  
- Cook indirect.  Direct dried out the bottom as I did not flip at all
- Try to do a reverse sear instead of the raised direct

Your feedback is welcome.  

Comments

• grege345
    grege345 Posts: 3,515
    Options