Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Lump Question

Options
I am new to the egg community so forgive this question if it has been answered before. When starting a cook, I have been told to wait until smoke changes and is not a strong charcoal smell. When using large amounts of lump, is there a concern during the cook when the fire spreads to new pieces of lump? I am assuming that all the lump is not burning at the same time. Is this correct?

LBGE - 2/12/2015

Chesapeake, VA

Comments

• jcaspary
    jcaspary Posts: 1,479
    Options
    Once the white smoke is gone you are good to go.   
    XL BGE, LG BGE, and a hunger to grill everything in sight!!!
    Joe- Strongsville, OH
  • Mattman3969
    Mattman3969 Posts: 10,457
    Options
    You are correct that not all the lump is burning at the same time but the VOCs of the unlit lump are dissipating because of the surrounding heat, the way I understand it.  Someone else can explain better than me.  Clean burning and smelling smoke mean food on at my house.  

-----------------------------------------

analyze adapt overcome

2008 -Large BGE. 2013- Small BGE and 2015 - Mini. Henderson, Ky.
  • blind99
    blind99 Posts: 4,971
    Options
    Different VOCs dissipate at different temperatures. If the egg is stable at a given temperature, all the VOCs that evaporate at or below that temperature go away. So the VOCs in unlit lump can evaporate away too. That's my amateur view, feel free to correct it.