Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

St. Louis Ribs First Go

Options
sofakingbald
sofakingbald Posts: 49
As a BGE noob, I love this forum and it's helped me avoid so many rookie mistakes. Yet, because I must be really slow, I can't get ribs down. Have tried baby back in a 3-2-1, spares in a 2-2-1, and now St. Louis in a turbo at 275 for ~2.5-3hrs. 

Each time, I followed directions closely. Each time, the ribs came out with an amazing flavor, fantastic color, but as dry as menopause. Was really disappointed in the turbo cook because I had an awesome applewood smoke, with a giant drip pan filled with applewood left over soak water resting on top of the PS. Only opened the lid once during the cook to drop a little Apple/Vinegar juice over the ribs. 

I'm determined. Any suggestions?
BGE novice from Arlington, Texas

Comments

• tksmoke
    tksmoke Posts: 776
    Options

@sofakingbald - What you did was not turbo ribs. Try this:

Turbo ribs are great, and they are easy.  I have never had one person say that they were less than excellent.  I highly recommend them for someone who is in the early stages of learning temp control on the egg.  Here's the drill:

• Trim ribs as necessary
    • apply light coating of rub
    • apply French's yellow mustard spread evenly with fingers to a thin coating
    • apply coating of rub and press in lightly
    • stabilize egg at 350 with smoking wood as desired, plate setter, drip pan (no liquid) raised with aluminum foil wads, and grill in place
    • Place ribs on the grill
    • set timer to 1 hour 45 minutes