Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Need help: chips, chunks or pellets

Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I'm a BGE newbie and am confused about how and what to use for flavored smoking. Which is better to use: chips, chunks or pellets? Should I soak them or put them in dry? Also do I need to continually add them for a longer cook or do you just put them in at the beginning of a cook? I'm confused....Help!!

Comments

• SE,[p]Depends on what your cooking. If your grilling a steak or some chicken, chips or pellets work great. For long cooks chunks are the way to go. You won't need to add more if you layer them in the charcoal. I don't soak my wood but I know others that do.[p]Steve
  • SE,[p]I use chunks. I don't soak. Chips are ok too, they burn faster but impart more smoke in shorter time in my opinion. I add 3-6 chunks with the lump and that's it for the whole smoke. I just did an 18 hour butt smoke kept at 250 on one load of charcoal and 6 chunks of guava.[p]"The Naked Whiz" website has more info on soaking wood and wood types. Here's a link:[p]Aloha![p]Greg Kemp
    [ul][li]Informational Website[/ul]
  • SE,[p]I prefer chunks because they don't need to be soaked, thus require no preparation. As far as flavor imparted, I have not noticed a difference between the two. I have never tried the pellets, but I have heard good things about them.[p]-smokeydrew
  • Bobby-Q
    Bobby-Q Posts: 1,994
    SE,