Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Does the table make it harder to bring up temp on the egg?

Options
I am new to cooking on the large egg. I had the nest to begin with. I could quickly get the temp up to 600, but as soon as we put the egg on the table I can barely get the temp to 450 which takes about 45 min. Any thoughts or suggestions?

Comments

• robnybbq
    robnybbq Posts: 1,911
    Options
    I would not think so. It's all about airflow tone bottom vent and the top. If they are not restricted it could be something else. For example damp lump.

Garnerville, NY
  • Trini_in_Ottawa
    Options
    I have no problem getting up to 600 - clean out the Egg properly ensuring there is no coals or ash blocking the air flow and you should be good to go.
  • Sfwilliams
    Options
    Will give that a try.....thanks
  • ringkingpin
    Options
    Yeah, I don't see how it's possible.  I have my eggs behind closed doors and it doesn't even make a difference.  As stated, it is probably ash in the vent holes.  ALso, charcoal is hygroscopic and absorbs moisture from the atmoshpere.  So, if you had charcoal sitting in the egg for a while with high ambient humidity outside, that too can serisouly affect your burn temps and ease of lighting the charcoal.  
    "Tell me what you eat, and I will tell you who you are."
     Brillat-Savarin
  • reh111
    reh111 Posts: 196
    Options