Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Question about Raised Direct

Options
Hey everyone, I've had my new LBGE for about a month and I'm loving it.  I'm still a novice but I'm trying to learn.  So far I've been sticking to basics (burgers, pork chops, chicken breasts, etc) but I'd like to branch out soon.  I enjoy reading your tips and recipes, but sometimes the terminology can be confusing for a newbie.  When someone refers to "raised direct" does that mean the grid should simply sit on top of the standard fire ring, or does it mean it should be raised in the dome even more than that?  If it should be raised even more, how do you recommend doing that? Sorry for the elementary question and thanks for your help!

Comments

• cssmd27
    cssmd27 Posts: 345
    Options
    Raised above the fire ring - usually with aftermarket equipment that offers a variety of heights and grid options.  Works great for things like chicken wings.
    Dallas (University Park), Texas
  • cookingdude555
    Options
    Cooking this chicken quesadilla raised direct on the small right now.
  • yzzi
    yzzi Posts: 1,843
    Options
    I've been using 3 pavers on top of the fire ring, then the grid atop that. I grabbed them from my yard so I wrapped them in foil and left them in the egg during a low and slow to cook out any moisture. Wet rocks explode when thrown in a fire so I didn't want to chance that on a high heat cook. Others use fire bricks.
    Dunedin, FL
  • cookingdude555
    Options
    Posted wrong pic, doing it from phone so...