Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Low and slow pork shoulder

Options
Good afternoon eggheads - relative newbie here looking for some guidance on my first low and slow cook (ok, not strictly my first low and slow, I did a brisket this weekend but after the way that turned out, I'd rather not speak about that).

So here's the deal:  I've had my egg for a couple of weeks now and have done a number of things on it via direct heat.  I don't mean to brag, but the fiance has been tossing phrases like "best ever" to describe food I've done on the egg :)  This weekend we're planning to have some family over and I'd really like to show off the awesomeness of the egg by doing a pork shoulder.  I'm thinking to get a 6 - 8 lbs shoulder based on the number of people and wanting to have some leftovers.  I'm hoping I can get some suggestions on the following items:

- Rub recipes
- What type of wood, if any would be good to use along with the lump charcoal?
- For a 6 - 8 lbs roast, how long should I plan on cooking this thing?
- I don't as of yet have an electric probe thermometer.  Should I get one before I undertake this venture?
- Finally, some of the stuff I've seen talks about cooking a shoulder for 12 - 18 hours.  This likely means I'd have to start the cook before I go to bed.  How to I setup and start the egg such that I can ensure it's going to cook at a consistent temp overnight and not go out while I'm sleeping?  

I'm sure some of the answers I get here will lead to further questions but that's all I can think of for now.

Thanks in advance for any advice!

Chris

Comments