Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Spatchcock turkey?

Has anyone done a spatchcock turkey?
I am new to the BGE and have read how spatchcock chicken would be a good start but the only reason I am thinking about turkey is there is one in the freezer:)
Will spatchcocking (is that a word) a turkey be a difficult task, I have yet tried it on a chicken.
It is around a 13lb bird and I have a lg. BGE should I give it a go? Any ideas on this cook?

thanks
Cary NC

Comments

• lousubcap
    lousubcap Posts: 32,082
    Mickey should be along as he is the resident turkey spatchcock eggspert.  I have done them up to around 15lbs on LBGE.  I go indirect at about 350*F on the dome.  I believe Mickey does them raised direct.  You may try a google search and in addition to spatchcock turkey add Big Green Egg to your query-should get you more info.  FWIW-
    Louisville; Rolling smoke in the neighbourhood. # 38 for the win.  Life is too short for light/lite beer!  Seems I'm livin in a transitional period.
  • No problem...just a little tougher to cut through the bones, but very doable. I usually do two 18 pounders for Thanksgiving. They are always the "hit" of the dinner!
  • robnybbq
    robnybbq Posts: 1,911
    I squeezed an 18lber spatchcocked on my large with a inverted v-rack  Rasied direct at 250 - took ~ 2.5 hours.  Was the best turkey I ever made.  Crisp DARK skin with extremely moist meat.

Garnerville, NY
  • jad
    jad Posts: 70
    Thanks for the ideas... looks like i will just need to decide indirect or direct?