Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Head Scratcher...no stall on whole brisket...14 lb done in 9 hrs?

Options
Crispix49
Crispix49 Posts: 191
First, I want to say that I am a long-time lurker, now a first time poster.  Bought an LBGE January of this year, and I have lurked on this forum for months gleaning nuggets of wisdom from many of you; so thank you for that.

I feel like I am not an expert, but not a beginner on the BGE anymore; my most recent cook has me wondering what happened and prompted me to actually post a question.  Put on a whole 14 lb brisket (rubbed w/Cow Lick and used about 5 or 6 mesquite wood chunks).  Got Egg stabilized at around 280 prior to putting on the meat at 11pm last night figuring about 1 hour per lb cook time...I then waited an hour+ before going to be to let temp get back up.  Woke up a couple times in the night to check remote therm and I noticed the grid temp hovered between 220-240, but the food temp was rising quckly.  Since I have done a number of butts and this being my 3rd brisket, I figured that a major stall around 170ish was about to happen...but it didn't.  Kept climbing up to 195 when I started checking it with a fork.  I pulled at around 200 and FTC'd, cut off point and made burnt ends with it. 

Is this common or is this a case of "every peice of meat is different"?

The core issue here is I pulled off the meat around 8am; the brisket was supposed to be for a New Years Eve block party starting at 6pm, so I will have to re-heat later, which I know is not optimal for brisket.