Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Which accessories should I start with?

grillingunner
grillingunner Posts: 116
edited July 2012 in EggHead Forum
I am new to the BGE. I have not even got mine yet. When I purchase my egg I am planning on getting a plate setter and pizza stone initially. Are there any other items I should consider right from the start? Also what type of starter should I use? Thanks in advance for the advice.
LBGE And MINI Egg

Comments

• JeffM
    JeffM Posts: 103
    You need some type of grill extender- woo3, grill extender, lag bolts, etc. to be able to cook raised and direct as opposed to indirect and raised with the plate setter.   Most of your chicken and other meats will be cooked direct and raised other than the ribs and pulled pork dishes which are raised and indirect.
  • nolaegghead
    nolaegghead Posts: 42,102
    Not unique to the egg, starting with fluid is frowned upon, but just about any other way you'd normally start charcoal is fine.  The wax squares that came with my egg worked fine, electric starters work well but I've heard reports about they seem to last only a season before breaking.

I'd get a good digital thermometer - dual zone for food and dome. 

I just ordered a Thermapen (quickread for food).  I think it's important to know when your food is done.

You'll love your egg.
  • Brownie
    Brownie Posts: 1,023
    Here is a great post about what you should look for. Click here.
  • lousubcap
    lousubcap Posts: 32,162
    Here is a great post about what you should look for. Click here.