Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

drip pan with brisket

captbunch18
captbunch18 Posts: 23
edited January 2012 in EggHead Forum
Ok...rookie egg user here.  What liquid do you put in the drip pan when doing a brisket?  Also, do you ever add any liquid during the smoke?  I have used beef broth, beer, and water and when i was done smoking, all the liquid was gone.  Does this matter?  Should there be liquid or not when you are done.  Thanks.

Comments

• Bakeman
    Bakeman Posts: 113
    I am not an expert but I put my feet from the egg under the drip pan to keep it of the plate setter.
    Ok...rookie egg user here.  What liquid do you put in the drip pan when doing a brisket?  Also, do you ever add any liquid during the smoke?  I have used beef broth, beer, and water and when i was done smoking, all the liquid was gone.  Does this matter?  Should there be liquid or not when you are done.  Thanks.
  • travisstrick
    travisstrick Posts: 5,002
    imageI I use these. One bottle of Allegro and as much beer as needed. I have had one can of beer and one bottle of Allegro last 12 hours. It makes a great drizzle sauce for serving.
    Be careful, man! I've got a beverage here.
  • I am not an expert but I put my feet from the egg under the drip pan to keep it of the plate setter.
    that sounds like a good idea.  so the goal is to not evaporate the liquid before the smoke is over....correct?

• Bakeman
    Pretty much, so far it has worked for me.
  • MaskedMarvel
    MaskedMarvel Posts: 3,136